The BEST way to get bad pet stains out of carpet

I have the best dog in the world.  She’s been known to inspire sonnets and song, cure canine phobia and tip the cosmic scales of peace and happiness.   But when I first brought her home from the shelter it took her a few days to get really house trained and she definitely wreaked havoc on my brand new white carpet. (eek!)

It was bad.  It was giving me low self esteem.  I wouldn’t let anyone in my bedroom and it was ruining my love life. ( not really, but if i had a love life, it would have been ruined.)

I tried everything.

Scrubbing, carpet cleaners, resolve, nature’s miracle.  I even spent $125 on a Bissel SpotBot (which really in my opinion made everything worse.)

Then I came across this homemade formula that really, really works.  It’s like a magic miracle.   So I’m sharing it with you.  This is what you need:

1. Clean White Hand Towels.

I like mine to have a little grain to them for extra scrubbing action.  Also they should be white so there’s no risk of the color from the towel bleeding.

84120742

2. A Spray Bottle.

This is key because it allows the solution to work on the carpet without over saturating the fibers.


t_12309

3. Laundry Detergent

I use Tide with Baking Soda, but I’m sure any will do.

tide_pure_essentials_liquid_white_lilac_big4. White Vinegar

This is really the magic ingredient.  It works so well.  Your house will smell like vinegar, but trust me it’s worth it.

white vinegar5. Hot Water

water

This is the solution I make in the spray bottle:  (all measurements are approximate)

1 Tablespoon Laundry Detergent

1/3 cup White Vinegar

Fill to to the top with hot/warm water

Just spray and rub with the towel until you see the stain lifting.  for really tough stains I’ve let the carpet dry and repeated.  Then give the carpet a good solid run with the vaccuum, and Voila!

white carpet

9 Responses to The BEST way to get bad pet stains out of carpet

  1. Gorgeous photographs! You make cleaning up dog excrement look artistic. I don’t have a pet, but I am sure this will work for other stains as well. Some people swear by Tide suds for upholstery. Just the suds, not the watery part. They take a basin, put a bit of Tide in it. Fill it with a heavy stream from the faucet to create suds. And then, just use the suds on whatever food stain or animal stain, or whatever.

  2. office cleaning,end of tenancy,carpet cleaning,london,cleaners,streatham,window cleaning,offices,domestic cleaning,cleaning service,office cleaning services london,cleaning compan london,cleaning carpets,domestic cleaning london,carpet cleaners,house…

    [...]The BEST way to get bad pet stains out of carpet « Greener Pasture[...]…

  3. Steam Cleaners Sydney…

    [...]The BEST way to get bad pet stains out of carpet « Greener Pasture[...]…

  4. Carpet Cleaner…

    [...]The BEST way to get bad pet stains out of carpet « Greener Pasture[...]…

  5. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the plan of a
    user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it. So that’s why this paragraph is great. Thanks!

  6. Joe says:

    It was good but I rather just lick the stains out it works much better in my opinion and I am not even kidding you can quote me on it because I would not lie I mean seriously have you ever met a joe that lies

  7. Binbrook golf says:

    I will immediately clutch your rss as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Kindly let me recognize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  8. I constantly emailed this web site post page to all my friends, since if like to read it afterward my contacts will
    too.

  9. The Bissell Quick Steamer Power Brush is another
    popular carpet cleaning machine. First, you will need to fully understand your cleaning
    choices so that you can choose a one that would suit your needs well,
    since there are a lot of them on the market to select from.
    Most of the time carpet cleaners can get out soil, bacteria and spots in your carpet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

